Welcome

In the News

Sentence in Terrorism Case

Toronto – February 14, 2019 – Today in Ontario Superior Court, Ms. Rehab Dughmosh was sentenced to a total of seven years in prison after being found guilty last month of the offences of leaving Canada to participate in the activities of a terrorist group, namely ISIS, contrary to section 83.181 of the Criminal Code, two counts of assault with a weapon, and carrying a weapon for a dangerous purpose, all for the benefit of a terrorist group, namely ISIS, contrary to s. 83.2 of the Criminal Code.

The charges arise from Ms. Dughmosh’s attempt to travel to Syria to join ISIS in April 2016, and her June 3, 2017 use of a knife and a golf club to assault people at a Canadian Tire store in Scarborough, Ontario.

More...

Statement from the Public Prosecution Service of Canada

Ottawa – February 12, 2019 – In light of comments made in the press regarding the prosecution of Vice Admiral Mark Norman, the Public Prosecution Service of Canada would like to clarify the context of the conversations between PPSC counsel and counsel for the Privy Council Office.

The document was PPSC counsel’s notes of conversations between crown counsel and counsel for the Privy Council Office. In the process of preparing for trial, the PPSC was looking to identify potential witnesses who could explain issues of cabinet confidence, as it is applied by the Clerk of the Privy Council.   The PPSC will be producing an unredacted version of the notes on Friday to the judge.

The PPSC has not sought or received instructions in respect of the prosecution of Mr. Norman from the Privy Council Office or any other government department or body.

Director of Public Prosecutions Ms. Kathleen Roussel said: “I am confident that our prosecutors, in this and every other case, exercise their discretion independently and free from any political or partisan consideration.”

More...

Decision Released from the Ontario Court of Appeal

Toronto – February 11, 2019 –The Ontario Court of Appeal released its decision today on the conviction and sentence appeal of Mohamed Hassan Hersi, 32. The Court dismissed the appeal and upheld the conviction and sentence.

Mr. Hersi was the subject of an undercover investigation that ran from October 2010 to March 2011. During the course of that investigation, Mr. Hersi told an undercover police officer that he was going to travel to Somalia, by way of Egypt, and join Al-Shabaab, the notorious terrorist group. Mr. Hersi also counselled the undercover officer to do the same – travel to Somalia and offer his services to Al-Shabaab.

On March 29, 2011, Mr. Hersi was arrested as he waited to board a flight to Egypt. He was charged with attempting to participate in the activities of a terrorist group, and with counselling participation in the activities of a terrorist group, contrary to section 83.18 of the Criminal Code. A jury convicted Mr. Hersi of both counts. He was sentenced to the then maximum sentence of five years imprisonment on each count and was ordered ineligible to obtain parole until he had served half his sentence.

Mr. Hersi has 60 days to decide whether to seek leave to appeal with the Supreme Court of Canada.

More...

Public Prosecution Service of Canada Deskbook

Public Prosecution Service of Canada Deskbook

More »

Commissioner of Canada Elections

Commissioner of Canada Elections

Date modified:

Bienvenue

Dans les nouvelles

Condamnation dans une affaire de terrorisme

Toronto – Le 14 février 2019 – Aujourd’hui, la Cour supérieure de l’Ontario a condamné Mme Rehab Dughmosh à une peine de sept ans d’emprisonnement, la Cour l’ayant reconnue coupable le mois dernier d’avoir quitté le Canada pour participer aux activités d’un groupe terroriste (EIIL) en violation de l’article 83.181 du Code criminel, ainsi que de deux chefs d’accusation pour agression armée et possession d’arme dans un dessein dangereux au profit d’un groupe terroriste (EIIL), au titre de l’article 83.2 du Code criminel.

Les accusations découlent de la tentative de Mme Dughmosh, en avril 2016, de se rendre en Syrie pour rejoindre les rangs de l’EIIL, et d’avoir attaqué des gens avec un couteau et un bâton de golf dans un Canadian Tire de Scarborough en Ontario, le 3 juin 2017.

Plus...

Déclaration du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada

Ottawa – Le 12 février 2019 – À la lumière des commentaires dans les médias au sujet de la poursuite du vice-amiral Mark Norman, le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada aimerait clarifier le contexte des conversations entre les avocats du SPPC et ceux du Bureau du Conseil privé.

Le document dont il est question renferme les notes d’un procureur du SPPC sur les conversations entre la Couronne et les avocats du Bureau du Conseil privé. En préparant le procès, le SPPC cherchait à identifier des témoins potentiels pouvant expliquer les questions touchant le secret du Cabinet, telles qu’appliquées par le greffier du Conseil privé.  Le SPPC produira au juge vendredi une version non caviardée des notes.

 Le SPPC n'a ni demandé ni reçu d'instructions du Bureau du Conseil privé ou de tout autre ministère ou organisme gouvernemental au sujet de la poursuite contre M. Norman.

« J’ai entièrement confiance que nos procureurs, dans cette affaire et dans toutes les autres, exercent leur pouvoir discrétionnaire en toute indépendance et à l'abri de toute considération politique ou partisane. », a déclaré Mme Kathleen Roussel, directrice des poursuites pénales.

Plus...

La Cour d’appel de l’Ontario rend sa décision

Toronto – Le 11 février 2019 – Aujourd’hui, la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario a rendu sa décision sur l’appel de la condamnation et de la peine interjeté par Mohamed Hassan Hersi, 32 ans. La Cour a rejeté l’appel et confirmé la condamnation et la peine imposée.

M. Hersi a fait l’objet d’une enquête d’infiltration entre octobre 2010 et mars 2011. Au cours de cette enquête, M. Hersi a indiqué à un agent de police banalisé qu’il comptait se rendre en Somalie en passant par l’Égypte, pour rejoindre Al-Shabaab, un groupe terroriste notoire. M. Hersi a également conseillé à l’agent d’infiltration d’en faire de même, soit se rendre en Somalie et offrir ses services à Al-Shabaab.

M. Hersi a été arrêté le 29 mars 2011, alors qu’il attendait pour embarquer à bord d’un vol à destination de l’Égypte. Il a été accusé d’avoir tenté de participer aux activités d’un groupe terroriste et d’avoir conseillé à quelqu’un de participer aux activités d’un groupe terroriste en violation de l’article 83.18 du Code criminel. M. Hersi, reconnu coupable par un jury des deux chefs d’accusation, a été condamné à la peine maximale d’alors, soit cinq ans d’emprisonnement par chef d’accusation et jugé inadmissible à la libération conditionnelle jusqu’à ce qu’il ait purgé la moitié de sa peine.

M. Hersi dispose de 60 jours pour décider de présenter ou non une demande d’autorisation de pourvoi à la Cour suprême du Canada.

Plus...

Guide du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada

Guide du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada

Suite »

Commissaire aux élections fédérales

Commissaire aux élections fédérales

Date de modification :