About the PPSC

Who we are

The Public Prosecution Service of Canada (PPSC) is a national, independent and accountable prosecuting authority whose main objective is to prosecute federal offences and provides legal advice and assistance to law enforcement.

As of March 31, 2018, the PPSC had 1,040 employees. In addition to staff prosecutors, the PPSC retained the services of some 170 private-sector law firms, and 432 individually appointed lawyers, as standing agents.

PPSC Headquarters is located in Ottawa, and the organization maintains a network of regional and local offices across Canada. Some PPSC staff prosecutors are also co-located with integrated enforcement teams across Canada.

Role of the DPP

The Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) is the Deputy Attorney General of Canada for the purpose of carrying out the statutory responsibilities described in the PPSC’s mandate. The DPP has the rank and status of a deputy head of a department, and in this capacity is responsible for the management of the PPSC as a distinct governmental organization.

Role of the Prosecutor

Prosecutors play a key role in the Canadian criminal justice system. This role is quasi-judicial in nature, imposing on prosecutors the duty to be objective, independent, and dispassionate. They must see that all cases deserving of prosecution are brought to trial and prosecuted with competence, diligence, and fairness. Prosecutors must be of integrity, above all suspicion, and must exercise the considerable discretion bestowed on them fairly, in good faith, and without any consideration of the political implications of their decisions. While they must be advocates, their role is not to seek convictions at any cost, but to put before the court all available, relevant, and admissible evidence necessary to enable the court to determine the guilt or innocence of the accused.

Our Mandate

The mandate of the PPSC is set out in the Director of Public Prosecutions Act. The Act empowers the Director of Public Prosecutions to:

The Director of Public Prosecutions Act also empowers the DPP to:

With the exception of Canada Elections Act matters, the Attorney General of Canada can issue a directive to the DPP about a prosecution or even assume conduct of a prosecution, but must do so in writing and a notice must be published in the Canada Gazette. In turn, the DPP must inform the Attorney General of any prosecution or planned intervention that may raise important questions of general interest.

Directives and Assignments

Our Mission

The mission of the PPSC is to serve the public by:

Our Values

Respect forms the basis of relationships with fellow employees and with the public.

Integrity motivates employees to apply the highest ethical and professional standards.

Excellence inspires employees in all aspects of their work.

Leadership characterizes the organization’s efforts to improve the quality of criminal justice throughout Canada.

Find out more about us

Annual Report 2017-2018

Departmental Plan 2018-19

Public Prosecution Service of Canada Deskbook

PPSC Careers

Areas of Prosecution

The PPSC prosecutes cases under federal statutes that are referred to it by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), other federal investigative agencies, and provincial and municipal police forces. In total, over 250 federal statutes contain offences that fall under the PPSC’s jurisdiction to prosecute; however, the PPSC regularly prosecutes offences under approximately 40 of those statutes. These offences are related to environmental offences, money laundering, organized crime, tax evasion, terrorism, and regulatory offences.

Drug prosecution files make up the highest percentage of the PPSC’s total caseload. The PPSC is responsible for prosecuting all drug offences under the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (CDSA), regardless of whether a federal, provincial or municipal police agency lays the charges, except in Quebec and New Brunswick. In these two provinces, the PPSC prosecutes only drug offences investigated by the RCMP.

In the three territories, the PPSC prosecutes all Criminal Code offences as well as offences under all other federal legislation and, on behalf of the territorial governments of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut, certain territorial statutes.

In addition, under arrangements with the provinces, the PPSC may prosecute Criminal Code offences that are otherwise within provincial jurisdiction when the accused also faces more serious charges within federal jurisdiction.

The PPSC does not have authority to direct investigations. It responds to requests for prosecution-related advice from investigators. The advantage of early prosecutorial advice is that it reduces the risk that investigative decisions, such as those concerning methods of obtaining evidence, will detrimentally affect the constitutional rights of Canadians or the admissibility of evidence at trial.

Date modified:

Au sujet du SPPC

Qui nous sommes

Le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada (SPPC) est une autorité de poursuite nationale, indépendante et responsable, dont l’objectif principal est de poursuivre les infractions fédérales et de fournir des conseils juridiques et de l’aide aux organismes d’application de la loi.

Au 31 mars 2018, le SPPC comptait 1 040 employés. Outre ses procureurs permanents, le SPPC a retenu les services de quelque 170 cabinets d’avocats de pratique privée et de 432 avocats désignés individuellement à titre de mandataire.

Le SPPC, dont l’administration centrale est située à Ottawa, est constitué d’un réseau de bureaux régionaux et locaux dans tout le Canada. Certains des procureurs permanents du SPPC travaillent dans les locaux d’équipes intégrées d’application de la loi partout au Canada.

Rôle du DPP

Dans le cadre de l’exercice des attributions décrites dans le mandat du SPPC, le directeur des poursuites pénales (DPP) est sous-procureur général du Canada. Le DPP a également le rang et le statut d’administrateur général de ministère et, à ce titre, est responsable de la gestion du SPPC en tant qu’organisation gouvernementale distincte.

Rôle du procureur

Les procureurs jouent un rôle clé dans l’appareil de justice pénale canadien. Ce rôle, de nature quasi judiciaire, impose aux procureurs l’obligation de faire preuve d’objectivité, d’indépendance et de réserve. Ils doivent veiller à ce que des poursuites soient engagées dans tous les cas où il est justifié de le faire, et menées avec compétence, diligence et équité. Les procureurs doivent être intègres, au-dessus de tout soupçon, et exercer le pouvoir discrétionnaire considérable qui leur est conféré de façon équitable, de bonne foi et sans égard aux répercussions politiques de leurs décisions. Bien qu’ils défendent une cause, le rôle des procureurs n’est pas d’obtenir une condamnation à tout prix, mais de présenter au tribunal tous les éléments de preuve existants, pertinents et admissibles qui permettront au tribunal d’établir la culpabilité ou l’innocence d’un accusé.

Notre mandat

La Loi sur le directeur des poursuites pénales énonce le mandat du SPPC. La Loi habilite le directeur des poursuites pénales à :

La Loi sur le directeur des poursuites pénales confère également au DPP le pouvoir :

Sauf en ce qui a trait aux affaires relevant de la Loi électorale du Canada, le procureur général du Canada peut donner au DPP des directives au sujet d’une poursuite ou prendre en charge une poursuite, mais ces directives doivent être données par écrit et publiées dans la Gazette du Canada. Le DPP, quant à lui, doit informer le procureur général de toute poursuite ou de toute intervention qu’il se propose de faire soulevant d’importantes questions d’intérêt général.

Directives et attributions

Notre mission

La mission du SPPC consiste à servir le public :

Nos valeurs

Le respect constitue la base des rapports entre collègues et avec le public.

L’intégrité appelle le personnel à suivre les normes éthiques et professionnelles les plus élevées.

L’excellence inspire le personnel dans tous les aspects de leur travail.

Le leadership définit les efforts de l’organisation visant à améliorer la qualité de la justice pénale dans l’ensemble du Canada.

Pour en savoir plus à notre sujet

Rapport annuel 2017-2018

Plan ministériel 2018-2019

Guide du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada

Carrières au SPPC

Poursuites

Le SPPC mène des poursuites en vertu de lois fédérales, qui lui sont confiées par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), d’autres organismes d’enquête fédéraux, et des services de police provinciaux et municipaux. En tout, plus de 250 lois fédérales prévoient des infractions pour lesquelles le SPPC a compétence pour engager des poursuites. Toutefois, le SPPC n’engage généralement des poursuites qu’en vertu d’une quarantaine de ces lois. Ces d’infractions incluent les infractions à l’environnement, au blanchiment d’argent, au crime organisé, à l’évasion fiscale, au terrorisme et les infractions réglementaires.

Les dossiers de poursuites en matière de drogue constituent le pourcentage le plus élevé de la charge de travail totale du SPPC. Le SPPC est chargé d’intenter les poursuites relatives à toutes les infractions en matière de drogue aux termes de la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances (LRCDAS), peu importe quel service de police – fédéral, provincial ou municipal – porte les accusations, sauf au Québec et au Nouveau‑Brunswick, où le SPPC ne se charge de poursuivre que les infractions liées à la drogue sur lesquelles la GRC a enquêté.

Dans les trois territoires, le SPPC mène des poursuites relativement à toutes les infractions au Code criminel, ainsi que les infractions prévues dans toutes les autres lois fédérales et, au nom des gouvernements territoriaux des Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut, celles aux termes de certaines lois territoriales.

De plus, en vertu d’ententes avec les provinces, le SPPC peut se charger de la poursuite des infractions prévues au Code criminel, qui relèvent de la compétence des provinces, lorsque l’accusé fait également l’objet d’accusations plus graves relevant de la compétence fédérale.

Le SPPC n’a pas le pouvoir de mener des enquêtes. Il répond aux demandes de conseils présentées par les enquêteurs au sujet de poursuites. La prestation précoce de conseils permet de réduire le risque que les décisions d’enquête, comme celles touchant les méthodes d’obtention de preuves, portent atteinte aux droits constitutionnels des Canadiens ou à la recevabilité de la preuve au procès.

Date de modification :